Help with my rig. Noob here, need advice from the Pro's outhere

hedgehogpie

Honorable
Nov 26, 2012
Hello guys,

I'm building a new rig my first time. I actually have an i3 2120 with a gpu of GeForce GT 220 . Now I've decided to build a rig for the first time (my dream as a gamer) (coz i got a work , thanks for this , I can finally build a gaming rig ) but I need your expert advice's.

These are the specs I have in mind:

Motherboard: Asus MAXIMUS V GENE or he's big brother MAXIMUS V formula (maybe the difference is the mobo size and the additional slots) or sabertooth z77? ( many have said that the thermal armor for sabertooth z77 is jsut for looks?). or the asrock extreme4/6 ? I don't really need an extra slots which I'm not gonna use.

CPU: i5 3570k/ FX 8320 (fx 8320 is slow than i5 3570k?)

GPU: Planning to select on this one (GTX 660ti/GTX 670, HD 7970/HD 7950)

Are AMD GPU are power hungry than the GTX GPU's? even for the latest drivers and the GHZ edition are factory overclocked and it is it ok with air cooling?

May have said that with the new drivers, AMD 7xxx series are much better than gtx 6xx series, but AMD cards are power hungry?

CASE: I always like Full tower case's. I'm choosing phantom 820 or the themaltake lvl 10 GT, or any you can recommend a full tower cases? just don't recommend more expensive that I have mentioned. I will always use air cooling and with radiator on it , maybe in the future water cooling (I have this noob thinking on water cooling , what if it's not properly installed, my hardware's well get wet and destroyed. I know water cooling is good.

FANS: any good fans a 120mm or 240mm?

PSU: maybe a 750w-800 PSU? anyone can recommend?

RAM: 2x4 gb RAM corsair or g.skill

MONITOR: maybe a samsung LED 1080p 22"-27" ( depends if i have a budget to spare) or any good LED 1080p monitors you can advice?