Sign in with
Your question

I think I broke it?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 4, 2012 11:27:11 PM

So Im no expert on computers, but I have in the past removed my graphics card and cleaned the dust out. So today my new card comes in the mail, and I remove the old one and put the new one in its place.... The new one is a bit bigger, and I had to rearrange the positions of a few cords but everything fit in place properly and so Im good. I reattach all the wires in back and turn on my computer. The screen stays black and I hear a super loud beep.....beep.....beep. It scared the *** out of me so I turned it off, triple checked that all the wires and stuff were attached properly and turned it on again. Again the screen stayed black and I heard the alarming super loud beeping again!

So at this point Im thinking great I broke my computer FML. I took out the new card, put the old one back in, and turned the computer on and everything is back to normal, computer works fine.

Whats causing my new card not to work? What the hell was that crazy beeping?!

I also think I should add, when the new card was in, and I turned on the computer, the fan turned on as well as a light from the inside of the card.

Old card: Radeon 5770
New card: HIS radeon 7870

Thanks for any help in advance

More about : broke

a b U Graphics card
October 4, 2012 11:34:42 PM

The 7870 needs more power than a 5770. It's not power-sucking, but if your PSU is very weak, it might be the problem.
m
l
October 4, 2012 11:43:19 PM

Well I have a Dell studio XPS

i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz 2.80GHz
8 GB RAM

Srsly though what causes a computer to beep really loudly from the inside ive never heard that ever.
m
l
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
October 4, 2012 11:48:13 PM

Its your BIOS warning you that something isn't right, it shouldnt really be damaging any components, but watch out for the PSU... could you supply us with any info? (will be on a sticker on the side of the PSU itself)