Sign in with
Your question

Help in optimizing my GTX 670

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 5, 2012 3:14:20 AM

I'm a bit of a noob, having just recently built my first PC, and I've been noticing some things that are... frankly odd in my gaming experience.

Some titles like Starcraft 2 run super smooth and I can't find anything to fault them really, but others... like Skyrim and Mass Effect and Age of Empires Online, there's all these little things. In Skyrim I notice really weird flickering with the shadows, from the leaves projecting shadows on the ground or from skeletons projecting shadows on a wall (usually from a torchlight). They are subtle, but I definitely notice them and they are very distracting. I wasn't expecting so many problems from a 450$ product. I'm playing at the highest settings I could find in game (FRAPs tells me I'm holding a solid 60FPS), but I saw there are also dozens of other settings I can change from the desktop (by going into that nVidia Control Pannel). There's a lot of stuff here... and I don't really know what any of it means, but I'm sure it's these settings that can help fix the weird quirks I've been seeing in game.

Is there a place that can... maybe guide me through them? Like a Nvidia Settings for Dummies or something? I found this mentioned on their website: http://www.geforce.com/optimize/articles/About-OPS But... while it mentions this "OPS software", I have no idea from where to install it. It says at the bottom of the page to look on the Nvidia forums if I need any help or have suggestions, but apparently they've been down for over a month... so I came here instead. Anyone able to help me?

More about : optimizing gtx 670

October 5, 2012 3:45:25 AM

PTNLemay said:
I'm a bit of a noob, having just recently built my first PC, and I've been noticing some things that are... frankly odd in my gaming experience.