Sign in with
Your question

Could my graphic card be damaged from factory?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 5, 2012 1:25:31 PM

I bought Firepro v5900 a few days ago. I bought it from newsegg. Since I live in Europe my friend bought it for me. She was in the USA.

I sent my graphic card at a company here so they can build me a computer.
They said that the graphic card didn't show any image and it's probably damaged from factory.

This is the motherboard they put it in:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

could it be that the motherboard isn't compatible with my graphic card?

Or is it damaged from factory?
Thank you
a b U Graphics card
October 5, 2012 1:39:58 PM

I'm not an expert on the Fire Pro cards, but I'm pretty sure that it should work. If not, then your friend probably should RMA that card.
October 5, 2012 1:51:31 PM

She's back in Europe. She was in the USA form the summer.
Related resources
a b U Graphics card
October 5, 2012 1:55:37 PM

ariancola said:
She's back in Europe. She was in the USA form the summer.

That's very not good. You might have been unlucky enough to get an extremely overpriced paper weight if you can't RMA it and it's really a faulty card. If you could test the PSU in another system and another PSU in the current system, then you could get started on checking the other components. If the card doesn't work in other systems that have a good enough PSU for it, then you'll have more evidence of it failing.
a b U Graphics card
a b V Motherboard
October 5, 2012 2:04:26 PM

Why couldn't you buy it in Europe?

Why can't you RMA it in Europe?
October 5, 2012 2:26:19 PM

Cause they don't sell that card here. I live in Macedonia (FYROM) I tried searching the same one even in Greece and there isn't any .They only sell gamer ones.

She bought if from newsegg. As I know newsegg doesn't ship in Europe. Just he USA.
So I don't think I'll be able to return it.