BSOD Kernel power 41

minilizzard

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012
hello im pretty new to computer stuff, learning quickly thow read alot of forms did not find any that helped. Anyways I built a pc a few months ago with a friends help here is my setup

MoBo-asus M5A97
CPU-AMD phenom ii X2 black edition
Grafix-Radeon HD 6870
PowerS.-antec 650W
SSD-Patriot pyro 60 gig
OS-Windows 7

my problem is that my pc will lock up and BSOD i get a kernel power error event 41 meaning that it did not shut down properly. it locks up when im gaming (mostly league of legends) and when i have skype open. but i know its not cuz of skype cuz its happins with google talk to.I have reinstalled all my drivers updated my bios and my SSD firmware. disabled the double sound driver trick did not work. It is very strange to me cuz when it locks up during games there is still motion i can see what is going on just my mouse and keyboard stop working and shortly later i get the BSOD plz help me if u have any ideas on how to fix this

duxducis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
Welcome into make it your self club
I see 1 problem, thou not related, amd 6870 will bottleneck your X2 cpu,
Miss match big Power supply and good GPU but then crippled dual core x2

Sadly Kernel power 41, don't mean much over the web it can be any hardware or software installed.

Got to check your temperatures first, as You mention gaming gpu can freeze and leave you with mouse to move around until you restart.

minilizzard

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012
yeah i know the 2x bottle neck i have unlocked it to a 4x thats the reason i bought the M5A97 its has and easy CPU unlock clickly thingy, i have an asus suite II it moniters my temps and let me know if it gets hot unfortunately i can not see it when it locks up but i get not notifications, when it locks up i am NOT able to use mouse or keyboard.
and i have got this since i have last posted after i ran mem test again for giggles on reboot