Sign in with
Your question

Tight Budget: Buy vs Build + FX 83** vs i5 3570k

Last response: in Systems
November 28, 2012 12:29:20 AM

Hey,
I'm a college freshman on a tight budget trying to build a pc for tri or quad eyefinity (that I might still be able to sell if I get tired of it). I need a pc for research (electrical engineering) I code (and plan to code more), multitask a lot with mostly general stuff(I do a little of everything) and I rarely game (when I'm bored) but when I game, I game hard.
The problem is I don't even know if I need the tri/quad setup (I'm a multiple screen freak)screen and if I do, what's the best mobo+cpu config?
Also, my last few computers have been crap but I usually find a way to tweak them to work well (not comfortably, but well).I'm trying to step up.
This isn't my first build, but my last one was when I was 13 so I'm not really current but I acan couple parts..
So, I have all my parts (8gb, 2tb, radeon hd 7770, {tv and monitor mixture: 22inch, 22inch, 40 inch, 24inch } plan to run/overclock my mobo on stock cooler)
but not sure of which mobo, cpu config.

Why I want fx over i5:
1.with the new fx series on AM3+ which seem to have a bright future since AMD is still making optimizations on the BD series that use AM3+, I think steamR would be even better than PD.
2. better bang for buck if I OC
3. better multithread performance: the software world is moving to multiple threads (important)
4. good overclocking (on stock cooler? or do I have to buy more stuff?)

Why I want i5 over fx:
1. i5 seems to be able to last many more years, nut with haswell coming.....
2. the world is still very much single threaded.
3. good overclocking; I know it becomes a stove after 4.5-4.6ghz.
4. I think I'll still be able to sell it at a good price
5. better performance than fx at the same freq. I'd have to take my fx to 5ghz to match a 4ghz here(controversial, please verify).
6. Dedicated graphics in case I get broke and lose my gfx.