Building first gaming computer! ($600-700)

OtakuMan

Honorable
Nov 28, 2012
I couldn't find the format thing that I saw around here to put up info but hopefully I can give a good understanding.

I was looking around for prebuilt computers during these recent "sales" but I didn't find anything within my price range, and I kept hearing that building my own would be cheaper and would meet my own needs.
First of all, I'm a complete newbie at computer parts, and I'm afraid of picking out parts that turn out to not be compatible with one another, which is why I'm here! I've been reading around here for a couple weeks and saw some cheap builds.

I've heard for gaming builds (especially first ones) that i5 is a good choice for a processor.

I saw a build on here (http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/352634-31-build-medium) that cost around $710 before rebates, but some of the parts that were posted have been discontinued on newegg, and I'm not sure about proper alternatives.

I want to have something that will basically run BF3 or Crysis 2 on high/medium. Not that I'm going to play them, just using them as a benchmark in case I DO decide to get into more intense games. I'm more likely going to be playing mmorpgs like Blade and Soul, DOTA 2, League of Legends, and Borderlands 2. I'd like to at least play those on ultra/high settings with AA.

Basically I'll be using it for gaming, 3-d rendering (AUTOcad/ Revit), Photoshop, and surfing the web.

As for when I'm going to be buying and building, it will most likely be middle of next month, as soon as school lets out!

I'd really like to stay within the given price range if possible, but if it means making the build last a couple more years then I'll chip like $20 more or something. Don't want to cheap out on a case and find temperature problems immediately after.

Oh and I'd like to leave room for upgrades in the future.