Sign in with
Your question

First time Battlefield 3 build

Last response: in Systems
November 29, 2012 2:32:15 AM

Okay after browsing I realized my first post was pretty dumb so i'll give it another go. This is my first build and is intended for playing battlefield 3. Here's what i've got so far:

CPU: Intel Core i7 2700k ($199 @ local Micro Center)
CPU Cooler: COOLER MASTER RR-T812-24PK-R1 ($59 @ Newegg.com)
Motherboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LK LGA 1155 Intel Z77 ($98 @ Newegg.com)
Graphics Card: HIS IceQ X² H797QM3G2M Radeon HD 7970 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 ($350 @ Newegg.com)
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 ($40 @ Newegg.com)
SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K SH103S3/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC ($100 @ Newegg.com)
Power Supply: Rosewill Green Series RG530-S12 530W 80 PLUS Certified ($55 @ Newegg.com)

Total: $902

So what do you guys think. Will this setup get me to where I can play battlefield 3 on all Ultra settings?

More about : time battlefield build

November 29, 2012 11:41:25 AM

Are any of those components overkill? If possible i'd like to see if I can take the price down a little bit. I just dont know where I would have any wiggle room to go for cheaper components
m
l
Related resources
November 29, 2012 12:16:35 PM

drop down to an i5 to save some cash, and get cheaper ram if possible.
m
l
November 29, 2012 12:41:05 PM

Yep get a i5
m
l
November 29, 2012 1:33:20 PM

You said this is your first "build", but not first PC. Are you reusing mouse, keyboard, monitor, and a relatively large hdd for storage?

What about an OS? If you have a retail copy of win 7 you're all good, but if it's an oem copy you'll need a new one.

Here's my suggestions. Dropped the cpu cooler(use boxed for non k i5) and added a decent case. Hope you like...

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3470 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor ($149.99 @ Microcenter)