Sign in with
Your question

What to do First with new build?

Last response: in Systems
November 29, 2012 5:38:46 PM

Hello all,

First of all, thank you to the tom's hardware community for being a great resource as I was diving into my first build! I just completed it and so far everything has been running great. Here is my system:

CPU: Intel i5-3570k (Using the built in HD 4000-haven't got a graphics card yet)
MB: Asus P8Z77-v LK
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Case: Fractal Arc Midi
SSD: Intel 330 Series 180 GB
HD: Seagate Barracude 2GB 7200 RPM

So this is my first build, and like I said I'm very happy with it, but I'm not to sure what to do first to get my system up to speed.

I'm looking for any advice as to what things I should really do first. I'm interested in overclocking, but not quite ready to get into that yet. I guess I'm looking for the things you guys to to make sure your system is performing at its peak potential. Any particular drivers, or utilities that I should get?

Thanks for your help!

More about : build

a b B Homebuilt system
November 29, 2012 6:58:07 PM

I like to get stuff to monitor the computer in terms of temperatures. You don't have a GPU, but I would recommend the CoreTemp gadget for your CPU. Its a Windows 7 gadget that shows CPU load and temperature, and is quite accurate.
a b B Homebuilt system
November 29, 2012 7:03:26 PM