Sub $110 Physx card? And Temp primary GPU

griptwister

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2012
Hello! I'm new to PC building... but for now, I'm looking for a cheap card just to run display and low end gaming... I want to be able to use it as a dedicated PPU later though... Any Suggestions? I plan on waiting for the Nvidia 7XX Series before I put big $$$ into a card. I'm also hoping to get away with using a 350w PSU temp.

griptwister

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2012

Yeah! A few are. How is the GTX 640 Though? Does the DDR5 and DDR3 Matter for dedicated PPU? I hear it does, but people tell me not by much, I'm hoping someone knows lol.

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012

It's GDDR5 and DDR3 or GDDR3 (there is no DDR5 yet, but we have both GDDR3 and DDR3, they're two different technologies).

The GT 640 is just a GTX 650 with DDR3 memory instead of GDR5. IDK how much memory bandwidth affects *PPU* performance

JJ1217

Honorable

I've always been wondering, can you use an ATI card as your main card, and then have a Nvidia card working the PhysX? It would be great if you could, it could potentially remove PhysX only being strictly for Nvidia Users.

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012

Yes, you can use a low end Nvidia card as a PPU for an Ati/AMD *master* card.

JJ1217

Honorable

Ok sweet, just so I don't hijack the thread, I sent you a private message regarding the matter

Thanks

griptwister

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2012

I think you use a driver hack to do that. I'm pretty sure it's possible! Don't worry about hijacking! It's still related lol.

JJ1217

Honorable
Yeah, the only thing I wished with AMD cards was PhysX, even if not many games supported it, its not bad to have it. Its also good if it works with AMD cards, since sometimes I've seen people getting worse performance with a dedicated PhysX card. Really strange stuff.

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012