Cthul

Honorable
Nov 26, 2012
I'm looking to try my hand at building a computer. Needs to be good for gaming and all around use. Any thoughts on any of these parts or things that just straight up don't work together ( motherboard/video card). Thanks in advance. I'm new at this and a lot of its over my head but I really don't want to mess it up or waste money on junk parts

AMD FD8350FRHKBOX FX-8350 Eight-Core 4GHz AM3+ Processor

Asus GeForce GTX 660 GTX660-DC2-2GD5 Video Card - 2GB

MSI 970A-G46 AMD 9 Series Motherboard

Kingston KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX Desktop Memory Kit - 8GB (2x 4GB)

WD Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB Desktop Hard Drive - 3.5", SATA, 7200RPM, 16MB Cache

Lite-On Internal 24X DVD Writer

Cooler Master HAF 912 Mid-Tower Computer Case

I was also looking at this CPU AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Quad Core CPU. Is the fx going to be worth the extra $100? Thanks again

Corvo

Honorable
Nov 10, 2012
Hey,

Here are my thoughts:
1st swap the 660 for a 7870 as it has WAY better performance all round.

2nd I'd get a Seagate Barracuda instead of the WD blue (maybe consider a 1tb hdd?)

3rd If you want to go with amd, I would go with a asrock board instead of a msi as asrock are more reliable.
Also, for gaming, I would recommend an Intel i5 CPU as they are better for gaming and the new Ivy Bridge run on the 22nm processor so they use less power.
And for that I would use an Asus board.

5th What PSU are you using? If you have one, which one and If you don't, I recommend a 600W PSU (maybe a Corsair GS-600?)

They are my thoughts!

Luke

Cthul

Honorable
Nov 26, 2012
Thanks guys. The more I look the more I see the i5 used. I was not set hard set on the amd. I was just looking at micro atx. I will be dragging it over to friends now and again so it would be nice to have the smaller case.

Cthul

Honorable
Nov 26, 2012