Sign in with
Your question

$300-500 New PC With Mixed Parts

Last response: in Systems
November 30, 2012 11:16:01 PM

Hi everyone, I'd consider myself a intermediate computer user, and the time has come for me to assemble my first computer out of individual parts. I'm effectively building a new PC, but I'll be using a few of the old parts from my current PC since they still work fine. I have picked out most of the new parts that I'll be getting already, but since I'm not an expert, I would like your input to verify that they are all compatible and will work together. Although if you could recommend better parts that would be even better. I'm smart enough to identify the kind of form factors and motherboard slots I need, but other than that please assume that I don't know anything about what is and isn't compatible. I've read the sticky post about how to ask these kinds of questions, and I filled all of it out, but I do have a few very important questions marked in bold that I'd really like some help with:

Approximate Purchase Date: Probably tomorrow.

Budget Range: $300-500

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming (mostly Guild Wars 2), watching videos/you tube, doing homework (word processors, spreadsheets, etc.), surfing the web

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: I'll be using a few of the parts from my current computer, and upgrading most of the important parts: I'll be upgrading the motherboard, CPU, RAM, operating system, hard drive and power supply. I'll be keeping my graphics card, case (including hard drive mount and wires and stuff), wireless card, and CD drive. Are those all the parts I'll need or am I forgetting something?

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, I plan to buy windows 8.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon.com. I would very much prefer to use Amazon, and I'd only consider Newegg or some other site if it was an amazing deal.