Sign in with
Your question

Help building a PC to overclock the i5 3570k

Last response: in Systems
December 1, 2012 7:37:21 PM

Hi there guys, this is the first time that I build a gaming computer. I have no experience whatsoever but I am currently studying computer information at college so I assume that I can assemble the PC myself and then find someone to help me overclocking it. I would like to build it before Christmas and save as much money as possible so I can buy gifts for the family :love: 

Again, I have no experience about this and I am basing this hardware from other guys who have built machines with similar specifications.

-> Processor: i5 3570k

-> CPU cooler: Gelid Tranquillo Rev.2
- or recommend me a cheaper one or better one if possible.

-> Case: Fractal Design Define R4 Pearl Black
- I am not sure about this one either but a guy from Youtube bought this one to overclock the 3570K so I think this one should be fine and it only costs $100!

-> Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
- I think this one should be fine to overclock the 3570K but I need help with this one. How many Z77X-D3H models are there? I found on Amazon.com that there are many different ones with the same name (or similar names? I am not sure) like UDH3 and some other similar ones and prices range from $100 to $200. Could anyone go on Amazon.com and tell me which one it is the Z77X-D3H that I need to overclock the 3570k? and if they are all the same, please help me selecting the cheapest Z77X-D3H out there.

-> PSU: None
- Which one should be fine?

-> Graphics card: None
- I am not sure if spending $300 for a graphics card, are there any good cheaper ones?

-> SSD: Do I need one?
- I am not sure what an SSD is and I was wondering if I need to buy one.

Right now I have this desktop I bought from Walmart some time ago. I was wondering, What can I use from it besides the monitor, speakers, mouse, HDD, and DVD reader? Can I use the RAM cards?