Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Looking to dump 550ti, thoughts?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 11, 2012 8:09:11 AM

Hey guys,
It feels like yesterday but it's been a whopping seven months since I built my first PC! Long story short; seven months ago I was a complete noob (and idiot) in a rush to build my first computer. I bought an EVGA 550ti 2GB graphics card from best buy, specs below in the newegg link. I bought it pretty much because it was Nvidia and I paid $180 at the time, you think I would be getting a "high end" graphics card till I see ones costing $300+!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

After months of time, heart, and dedication, I can say I have gotten significantly better with my PC building skills! But one thing that I still lack real brains in is graphics cards. Today I got an email about the 650ti that was being released with Assassins Creed III as a bundle. But after comparing stats (and reading the forums here) I see that the 650ti is just another 550ti "noob bait" graphics cards.

With that being said, does anyone here recommend a good graphics card for me to upgrade to for around $150-200? I think my specs are in my sig, but I got a AMD x6 1045t overclocked at 3.8Ghz, dual channel ram overclocked at 1500mhz, and my graphics supports PCI 2.0 (although I hear 3.0 is almost perfectly backwards compatible). Do you guys even recommend upgrading or should I just keep what I got a little longer? I've looked at the 560ti, what options are there in the Radeon department? I hear ALOT of garbage over them, but if they got something more budget friendly that would work better with an AMD system, maybe I should go with that?