Sign in with
Your question

Undervolting GTX 480

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
October 14, 2012 2:57:11 AM

Im a 3D artist with a GTX 480, and i have noticed even though im using CPU only rendering, that over the time in long rendering session, my GTX 480 starts heating around 90C and 91C (after 7,8 hours). Im bit worried about it and searched around the internet and found out that i can safely Undervolt my card. So I used EVGA Precision X to undervolt my card. but i think i under volted it too much that at a point, strange flashing little squares appeared over my monitor :ouch:  (like a check board) and my heart stopped.
but after i reset my pc, everything 'seems' fine. :heink: 
did i up my 480?

More about : undervolting gtx 480

October 14, 2012 2:58:19 AM

Nope... when you get a bad clock/volt, worst case scenario is typically that you just get a BSOD and the PC resets back to normal.

Just means you shouldn't undervolt quite as much as you did. I'd keep an eye on your GPU usage during these rendering sessions... 90C indicates that the card is under full load.
m
l
October 14, 2012 3:23:58 AM

BigMack70 said:
Nope... when you get a bad clock/volt, worst case scenario is typically that you just get a BSOD and the PC resets back to normal.

Just means you shouldn't undervolt quite as much as you did. I'd keep an eye on your GPU usage during these rendering sessions... 90C indicates that the card is under full load.

Oh thank god! it really bugs me. cause im just using mental ray, that is a pure cpu only renderer though my cpu (i7 920) never go over 70C even after very long render times. and the card isn't loaded at all. maybe my air flow need to be adjusted? And i recently went to ( Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600 KHX16C10B1RK2/16 ) RAM upgrade and im worried about it's temperature too. can anyone tell me the safe temperature range to these ram sticks and a tool that i can monitor them?
m
l
Related resources