Long time until POST, GPU Problems

brreaker

Distinguished
Oct 15, 2012
First of all, hello! It's my first post here, I tried searching around yet I found nothing that managed to solve my problem.
First of all, my pc is homebuilt, I can't say I have a lot of experience with building PCs but I am not really a starter; my problem is that after dismembering the PC and putting it back together, my GPU doesn't work anymore. Now, when I start the computer, it takes up to 10 seconds to reach the POST, so the fans start spinning (PSU, CPU and GPU), however the CPU one spins slower until POST; after about 10 seconds, it gets the POST and boots the OS (in this case, Windows 7 32 bit);anyway, this tends to happen only after the PC has been shut down for longer than a couple of hours (so most likely after the capacitors are empty).
Now, I also seem to have problems with my memory sticks, but I couldn't find any solution to that but replace them, haven't had the funds yet. Anyway, if I remove one of the memory sticks, sometimes it POSTs faster, sometimes it doesn't, so I'm really unable to tell if it's because of the RAM or not. I have an integrated GPU card, BIOS seems to put the image right on that one, without actually trying to send the image to the PCI-E one. I have had problems with this GPU before, however by for example removing the memory sticks and letting the GPU on, hearing the beeps, then installing them one by one, I was able to get the image back on the PCI-E card. I tried this again, no result. I removed the GPU card and cleaned it carefully and using an air blower I cleaned the socket as well. I think I should add that the safety mechanism of the PCI-E doesn't really keep my card in place, being able to wiggle it in the socket left-right with lot of ease (yes, before adding the screw).
My motherboard doesn't allow me to completely turn off the integrated graphic card, it only lets me set a priority (in this case, the priority is set to PCI-E -> PCI -> IGP );