Sign in with
Your question

Video Editing PC - Please Review

Last response: in Systems
December 8, 2012 12:06:56 AM

Hi,

Looking to get a home-video editing PC w/o paying for more than I need (want to be able to upgrade). I've never built a PC before. Here's a PC based on some research; is it 'overkill'? I just want a 'good' video editing experience (meaning, no long delays). I'll put Win 7 Pro on it. Note: need a firewire. I'm probably going to use Adobe Premiere Elements.

• Case: COOLER MASTER, HAF 932 Advanced (RC-932-KKN5-GP) Click here
  • Boot Drive: WESTERN DIGITAL, 1TB WD VelociRaptor Click here
  • Power Supply: CORSAIR, CMPSU-750HX HX Series Power Supply 750WClick here
  • CPU: INTEL, Core i7-3930K Click here
  • Motherboard: GIGABYTE, GA-X79-UD5, LGA2011, Intel® X79, DDR3-2133 Click here
  • Video Card: EVGA, GeForce® GTX 570 HD (KR) 732MHz Click here
  • Optical Drive: LG ELECTRONICS, WH14NS40 14x/16x/48x BD/DVD/CD Blu-ray Disc Burner Click here
  • Display: ???
  • Memory: CORSAIR, 16GB (4 x 4GB) Vengeance™ Red PC3-17000 DDR3 2133MHz SDRAM DIMM Click here
  • Liquid Cooling: THERMALTAKE, Water2.0 Pro Liquid Cooling SystemClick here
  • Firewire card: ???

Questions:
  • Are there any incompatibilities in the above?
  • Is the main reason to get an SSD drive for faster boot times?
  • If I don't care about fast boot times, should I just get a non-SDD hard drive (10000 RPM?) internal and then a second one as well and split the audio and video? Can I get redundancy with these (e.g. RAID 5) and make the second hard drive an external one?
  • For video storage on hard drive, what should I use? E.g. G-Speed Q Click here
  • Do I really need a fast GPU (video card) for video editing?
  • Can I upgrade the GPU with the above motherboard to GPU NVIDIA Quadro 4000 later on?
  • What are my restrictions (in a general sense) for CPU upgrading with the above configuration?
  • For RAM, always get it in quad kits?

Alternative build1: