First Build - PLEASE Help

mlwhiteman

Honorable
Dec 8, 2012
Hi everyone,

I'm new to all of this and trying to build a computer for the first time. I'm looking for it to be more of an all-around computer that's capable of playing some of the more graphically-intense computer games. I won't be doing much movie or photo editing at all if that matters. So I was looking into what I wanted, and I came up with what I think is the build I want but I just wanted opinions. If something's not compatible, or there are better options out there for a little more, even a little less, that's fine. I'm open to anything. Anyways, here it is and thanks in advance:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/rqYY

lt_dan_zsu

Honorable
May 3, 2012

bardacuda

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2011
The Corsair closed loop liquid coolers aren't necessarily any better than a good air cooler and they tend to cost a bit more. Also if you really wanted to go that route the H100i is now available and it's an improvement over the H100 for the same price.

750W is more than you need for that build unless you were planning to add a second video card later. A quality 550W is enough for the components you've picked though.

I like the Sandy Bridge 2500Ks since they don't get nearly as hot and therefore they are easier and safer to overclock. Ivy Bridge 3570K is slightly better at the same clock rate as Sandy, but you will be able to clock Sandy higher and keep it cooler so a 2500K is not a bad choice at all.

The 670s are about on par with the 7970 non-GHz cards so good choice there. If you wanted to save money on the video card a 660 ti is on par with a 7950 for under $300.

All in all though it's a pretty good looking build.

lt_dan_zsu

Honorable
May 3, 2012