Sign in with
Your question

SOMEBODY PLEASE HELP ME!!!

Last response: in Systems
December 8, 2012 10:51:43 AM

I built a computer a month ago and have not been able to get this thing working. I am an experienced PC builder and have a higher than average tech experience level but I cannot figure this thing out for the life of me. Here are my specs:

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 rev 1.3
(Bios: F12)
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600k 3.4ghz
RAM: Patriot Viper Series 2x4gb 1600MHz PV38G160C9K
HD: 1.5TB HDD
SSD: Kingston SSDnow 120GB
PSU: OCz 550W

I have so far replaced the motherboard, when that didn't resolve the issue I replaced the RAM which still didn't resolve the issue either. I have tested the PSU, testing the CPU with prime95 which passed, tested the RAM with memtest which passed, I took the SSD out and installed windows on the HDD and got the same problems so I took out the hdd and tested it with seatools both short dst and long generic and passed. The windows 7 disc I am using has been used several times to install windows 7 on other computers since this build first started so the disc is not the problem. The disc drive came out of a working computer. SATA cables have been replaced since the mobo replacement.

Now onto the list of problems.

1st build (before parts replacement): During windows installation right before the step that loads the desktop I get an interactive logon process failure message. I installed the drivers and started installing updates. Started getting update failures so I went into event viewer and saw bugcheck errors, ntfs errors and some others so I tried testing the RAM with memtest which failed. I went into the BIOS and enabled XMP profile 1 and retested the RAM which passed. Reinstalled windows and got the same exact problems and some random blue screens. I tried various troubleshooting things which didn't work so I RMA's the motherboard.