Looking for advice on a Graphics Card.

WokSz

Distinguished
Jun 7, 2011
Hi guys,

I'm currently looking at building a new PC for my gaming needs. Here are the current parts I've found:

1) Still deciding between the MSI X79A-GD45 and ASUS P9X79.
2) Intel Core i7-3820 3.6GHz Quad-Core Processor

Was wondering what your opinions were on the Sapphire HD 7970 VAPOR-X GHZ 3072MB (https://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-303-SP)?

Would you recommend a better card for my gaming needs?

I have never had driver issues with my AMD/ATI cards. I have heard people say they are buggy, but again, never an issue and I have used them since the 9800pro. I also use Nvidia cards and have no problems with them either. I personally would go with the Sapphire cuz its faster than a 680 in many games. I have heard its a bit noisy though, you may want to look into that if you care about that sort of thing. As far as the motherboard goes, I would get the Asus because I have no experience with MSI motherboards (but have seen their reviews, which tend to be worse than Asus). Why not go with a Z77 combo? They are just as fast, at least when comparing the quad core versions. They overclock better too. The only thing x79 gives you is four channel memory (which isn't necessary) and more PCIe lanes (which is only necessary if you run multiple gpus).

ricardois

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2011

On my experiences, ASUS mobo are better over MSI mobos, they are more user friendly and ASUS support is great.

I think that the AMD 7000 series Gpus, are still a little over the price for the performance/quality. i think they will drop prices even more (they did that already a lot).

The drivers are not the point, since nvidia last 600 series are still adapting too, but i think that the 680 performance/technology does worth the little extra.