Your question

Need help on component upgrades for my homebuilt PC

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
December 10, 2012 10:44:56 AM

Hello, guys. This is my first time on Tom's hardware :hello: 

So, I've had this desktop for a while now. I built it on August last year and I'd like some help on upgrading some components.
Here are the specs:

CPU - Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard - JW-H67M-USB3(B3) (Some unknown Chinese brand, but is still working okay)
RAM - Patriot Signature DDR3 8GB (2x 4GB) PC3-10600 (1333MHz) w/ heatshield
Storage - Seagate Barracuda 3.5" 1TB SATA 3Gb/s 7200RPM 32MB Cache
GPU - Zotac GTX 560Ti 1GB GDDR5 256 Bit
Sound Card - Onboard Realtek 8 Channel HDA Codec
Operating System - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Power Supply - Aerocool Strike X 600W (Non Modular)

Okay I'm thinking of upgrading the motherboard and graphics card. I'm an avid gamer running the latest and most hardware-demanding games on high settings so I want the PC to be futureproof for 2+ years. I'm on a budget though.

For the motherboard I'm confused on whether I should get a P67 or Z68 chipset. I heard good reviews about the ASUS LGA 1155 Motherboard P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 as it's forward compatible with Intel's Ivy Bridge CPU's.

For the graphics card I think I'll trade in my GTX 560Ti for the GTX 660Ti. Will it be compatible with the rest of my components? Keep in mind my PSU only has 600W and I will not be overclocking. I'll leave the suggestions to you guys as I am already confused myself. Any help is appreciated. Thanks! :) 

More about : component upgrades homebuilt

December 10, 2012 10:59:35 AM