New system worked, "clicked" and died. Need help figuring it out.

RDAbreu

Honorable
Dec 10, 2012
Hello there guys.

I'm new to Tom's Hardware forums and new to the whole idea of building my own computers. I just built my first one, actually, and would like some help with a problem I did not expect to have.

I bought the parts listed below and assembled everything last wednesday, following strictly both the manuals and a video-guide I found on reddit's "buildapc" subreddit. I triple-checked all connections and installations, so I'm fairly sure nothing got misplaced. Cables were all well connected, standoffs were correctly installed.

I powered it up and everything seemed to be working properly. I installed Windows 7, Chrome, the driver for a USB wifi dongle (cables are not a possibility), and everything was OK. I inserted the CD that comes with the VGA and began installing the drivers, while simultaneously downloading and installing Steam.

While I was doing that, there was a distinctive "click" noise (the same sound the power switch on the PSU makes when you flip it) from inside the case, and the whole system just shut down. Ever since, I have been unable to turn it on. There is no power going through the components, fans don't spin, LEDs don't light up. I just push the power button and nothing happens at all.

Not sure if this is relevant, but I had just finished screwing the thumbscrews and closing the case, and the system had been on for about thirty minutes.

I've been looking all over for a solution for this problem, but all I can find are troubleshooting guides involving computers that either never booted or are booting incompletely. Still, I have taken all those troubleshooting guides into account and tried out many of their proposed solutions. This are the things I have already tried:

- Removing all components except for CPU (also tried leaving on the RAM);
- Removing the mobo from the case;
- "Rebooting" the mobo by removing the battery for 30 seconds;