Sign in with
Your question

New computer build

Last response: in Systems
December 10, 2012 6:12:08 PM

Hi,

(I apologize in case I'm posting this in the wrong category, I'm a bit unsure if it's the right place or not)

My name's Kevin and I'm planning to buy a new computer within the next 2 - 3 weeks.
I have basic - medium hardware knowledege on how to choose most of the components, however, I'm no expert and there are some things I would like to ask/discuss.

I have more or less a clear picture of what I want to achieve, I just need to fill in some blanks and could use some help with that, as well as help with detecting possible faults in my design (things I might have overlooked or wasn't aware of).

It's not my first computer, but it will be the first one I will build myself. A friend who has build his own computer offered to help as well in the building process in case I run into some problems or have any doubts. The reason I want to build it myself is to learn more about hardware and because it's fun, I'm also very aware of that it's not really cheaper and that it might give a few headaches, but that's ok =).

What I'm gonna use the computer for :
- gaming (offline, lan and online)
- multimedia (I'm gonna use my tv as a monitor - > 42" in size and has 3D with glasses)
- programming (visual studio, sql management server, vmware, and more)

Alright, that was some background information so you understand what kind of computer I want to build.

I have already choosen the following components (not bought yet, just choosen):
- cpu : Intel Core i7 3770K 3,5Ghz (Ivy Bridge) - // BX80637I73770K
- RAM : 2 packets of Kingston DDR3 HyperX red 1600MHz 16GB (that means a total of 32GB) - // KHX16C10B1RK2/16X
- gpu : ZOTAC GeForce GTX 660 2GB AMP! ® - // ZT-60902-10M
- motherboard : ASRock Fatal1ty Z77 Professional - // Z77 PROFESSIONAL
- hard disk : 3TB Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm SATA 6Gbit/s -// ST3000DM001
- ssd disk : SSD 240GB Intel 335 Reseller 2.5" -// SSDSC2CT240A4K5