**First build - Need opinions before pulling trigger**

SyPHREN

Honorable
Dec 12, 2012
Hello everyone,

I've been lurking in the shadows of these forums for the past few months and I have finally selected all of the components for my first build. I've got to be honest.. I am a bit nervous as it is my first time building a PC rig myself. It's been a very enjoyable experience to be able to learn about the technical details of how these components fit together.

Anyway, here is my information..

Intended Use:

Approximate Purchase Date: Soon (before X-mas)

Budget Range: preferably $1300-$1500 (including OS, antivirus, peripherals, etc.)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Dual monitor 1920x1080 support for multitasking (fast web browsing, watching HD movies, word processing/powerpoint/excel, etc.). Possible use of CAD or fluid dynamics program applications (engineering related). Possible gaming (never been much of a PC gamer, but with a proper rig I may check out a game here and there, but likely not often).

Are you buying a monitor: Yes, the Asus VH242H 23.6" monitor (x2)

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, Windows 7 64 bit is what I plan to purchase

Overclocking: Maybe in the future, not immediately

SLI or Crossfire: Not sure what this is, so no at the moment

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 (dual monitor, possibly 3 in the future)