Sign in with
Your question

What makes for good RAM/Motherboards

Last response: in Systems
December 12, 2012 11:56:12 PM

Hi, I'm building a custom gaming PC. I've never done this before. I don't know how to tell good from bad in the case of RAM or motherboards. Can anyone help? Thanks.

(Note 1: I'm not looking for "buy product x" or "y is the best." I want to know how to tell that "y is the best."
Note 2: I haven't yet bought a CPU. Or anything else, I'm just planning.
Note 3: If it still matters my total budget is $1500, but I'm saving up so that's not really set in stone. I'll just save longer if need be.)
a c 77 V Motherboard
December 13, 2012 12:48:33 AM

Motherboard makers try to distinguish their products with the feature sets: number and type of ports and connections available, BIOS options, etc. As far as reliability and stability, look at customer reviews. There are always going to be some faulty parts that ship out of the factory (and these might be a more vocal minority than the mostly satisfied customers) but there shouldn't be too many.

RAM has a simpler job: you'll just want to know whether it's compatible with your board and reliable. Select RAM in the amount and speed you want, then a good selection should "just work" to borrow a marketing phrase from Apple.
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
December 13, 2012 12:57:30 AM

start with partspicker.com and reserch everything you plan on getting. the wonderfull people here at Tom's are always willing to help you.... as long as you ask the question corectly lol
m
l
Related resources
a b B Homebuilt system
a c 108 V Motherboard
December 13, 2012 1:00:31 AM

+1 to Schiz

But I'd say you forgot something a bit important; ram voltage. Also some ram may not operate at their rated specs but most of the time it is due to compatibility.
m
l
December 13, 2012 1:05:28 AM

K1114 can you elaborate? How can I tell if the voltage will cause a problem?

Does MHz not matter for Ram?
m
l
a c 77 V Motherboard