Sign in with
Your question

Surface to build PC on

Last response: in Systems
December 13, 2012 2:01:10 AM

I'm trying to figure out a surface I can build my PC on. I know wooden table is the way to go but I have a couple issues. I do have a wooden table outside which I could use but since this is my first build, I want to test out the motherboard before placing it into the case and I would need a monitor. My monitor is mounted to the wall in my bedroom so I can't take that out to my kitchen (where the wooden table is). I was thinking of bringing a plastic table, like in the photo below into my bedroom and working from there. I also have carpeted floors in my bedroom but my kitchen has wooden. Not sure what to do. Should I just build it in the kitchen then test everything? I would hate to unplug and all that stuff if something were wrong.

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_SPM6474838409P...

More about : surface build

December 13, 2012 2:38:26 AM

I wouldn't worry about building it on the plastic table, that wouldn't be a problem. But building it on carpeting isn't a good idea. I'd build it in the kitchen and then move upstairs if I were you - just to be safe.
December 13, 2012 5:00:14 AM

Anything but carpet pretty much. Or stuff that has alot of static electricity. I built a few just a few hours ago on a piece of cardboard, while wearing socks on 70's shag carpeting.

Which I do not recommend at all in the least bit. Make sure you are just not on carpet at all, and you probably should be fine. I have never actually messed up a component before due to static.
Related resources
December 13, 2012 6:11:38 AM

Deemo13 said:

Which I do not recommend at all in the least bit. Make sure you are just not on carpet at all, and you probably should be fine. I have never actually messed up a component before due to static.