Sign in with
Your question

Switching HTPC to Mini ITX Build

Last response: in Systems
December 13, 2012 2:34:54 AM

Hello All,

During the summer I built an HTPC/Gaming rig. It is an ATX build that includes an FX-8150, Radeon 7870, 1 SSD, 2 HDD, and a Ceton Infinitv for DVR functionality. This is all housed in a Lian Li case. Unfortunately, the case doesn't entirely fit inside our TV console, and this has grown to be unacceptable to the better half. I have been unable to find any ATX HTPC cases that will fit in the space. So I was thinking I would like to turn it into a Mini ITX build.

Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be any Mini ITX motherboards for the FX series. If this is not true, please let me know. I would be willing to move the processor/motherboard into my Desktop rig and get something new, but as I have never done Mini ITX before I need some advice. What would be the best components to fit my needs and get smaller? Will a Trinity APU be sufficient? Thanks everyone!

More about : switching htpc mini itx build

a b B Homebuilt system
December 13, 2012 2:44:12 AM

Asus M4A88T-I Deluxe Mini ITX AM3 Motherboard and AMD FX-8150 3.6GHz 8-Core Processor are not compatible.
CPU thermal design power (TDP) of 125W exceeds motherboard maximum of 95W
AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz Quad-Core Processor apeers to be the best for mini itx build...

if your happy with your HTPC except the ho9le fitting thng.... change change space to fit?
m
l
December 13, 2012 8:59:49 AM

check out the apevia x master htpc cases
m
l
Related resources
December 13, 2012 1:59:49 PM

dsventimiglia said:
Asus M4A88T-I Deluxe Mini ITX AM3 Motherboard and AMD FX-8150 3.6GHz 8-Core Processor are not compatible.
CPU thermal design power (TDP) of 125W exceeds motherboard maximum of 95W
AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0GHz Quad-Core Processor apeers to be the best for mini itx build...

if your happy with your HTPC except the ho9le fitting thng.... change change space to fit?