PC Randomly Shuts Off

dahlkomy

Honorable
Dec 13, 2012
My PC shuts off randomly. At first, I thought it was overheating. It was running at 70+ under heavy stress. So I bought a couple more fans and a new heatsink. Now it's running at 40 C under heavy stress, but just shut down again.

It's my first build I completed in June. I bought the CPU, motherboard, and RAM used from a friend. The shutting down problem has only started happening within the past month. Before that, the only problem it has is it takes a few seconds before booting up. It will click, but nothing else, then it will beep and start up. While starting up Windows, it will occasionally freeze and I will have to reset it and try again. It also froze upon waking up from sleep or hibernation, so I just turned that feature off so it never sleeps. I just turn it off if I'm not using it.

I ran Chkdsk last night; no errors reported. I ran Prime95 for the whole night; no errors reported this morning. I just ran Memtest86; no errors reported. After Memtest, I came into Windows to Google around some more and the PC shut down on me again. It usually does it under stress, like while playing a game, but it has happened a couple times in Windows.

When it shuts down, it turns completely off. No BSOD, no restart, nothing. I have to push the power button to start it up again.

I have no idea what's going on.

Windows 7 Ultimate
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P Mobo
Intel Core2Duo E8500 3.16 GHz
4 GHz RAM
GeForce GTX 550Ti
Corsair 650W PSU

eshepard

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2010
The fact that it happens under stress suggests power to me. When you say stress can you be more specific?? You mentioned gaming, gaming taxes the GPU, which is by far your most power hungry component. Does it ever shut down under intense CPU load when the GPU is under relatively low load??

dahlkomy

Honorable
Dec 13, 2012