Fans on my first build...so confused.

Throshinn

Honorable
Oct 12, 2012
Hey!

I have some questions about fan control.

First off, here is my PC build:
MB ASUS|P8Z77-V PRO Z77
VGA MSI|N680GTX LIGHTNING GTX680
PSU CORSAIR | AX1200I 1200W RT
CPU INTEL|CORE I7 3770K 3.5G 8M R
SSD 240G|INTEL SSDSC2CT240A3K5 R
MEM 4Gx4|CORSAIR CMZ16GX3M4X1600C9
WATER COOLER CORSAIR| CWCH100 R
CASE CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 650D
OS WIN7 64BIT
HDD- 1 TB WD Black Caviar
Opt Drv- ASUS...

Overview
This is my first build, so forgive me if there’s an obvious solution to my issue lol. I use my PC for gaming (gw2, BF3 allot) and otherwise just as a media source (movies, DL’s, and browsing). The system is not over clocked, as I have no clue how to do that yet lol and I really don’t think I need to do so at the moment (performance seems amazing to me!)

Fan placement:
I went with the rear fan as an exhaust (120mm), the front fan intake (200mm), bottom fan blowing towards rear (200). The h100 radiator is mounted inside the case (top grill), I have the two 120mm fans underneath it, pulling air through the rad and into the case.

I know there is a pile of forums out there on fan positioning push/pull etc.. I chose this pretty much because I was overwhelmed and it seemed ok lol. But I am very much open to suggestions on changes I should make to it.

Question(s):
Right now I’m super confused on how my fans should be operating. Ideally I think they should be at higher speeds when gaming and then slow off during use of media? If so, should this be done manually or automatically?

Once I know how my fans should be operating, what is the best way to apply the settings?
Should I use software that came with my MB (Fan Expert 2), corsair link that came with my PSU or MSI afterburning that came with my GPU (I think these 3 programs may interfere with each other too)? Or apply setting in the BIO’s?

Not to sure what to do with the GPU fans as well, how are those setting changed or does it just do its own thing lol?