Sign in with
Your question

Crash Followed by "Honking" Noise

Tags:
Last response: in Windows 7
February 28, 2012 4:48:38 AM

I've tried to find the solution myself, but it seems like no one has the same problem I have. Before I get started, I'll post my computer build in case that info is needed:

Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
AM3 AMD 870
EVGA SuperClocked 012-P3-1572-AR GeForce GTX 570
Crucial M4 CT128M4SSD2 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive
CORSAIR Professional Series HX750 (CMPSU-750HX) 750W 80 PLUS SILVER

Scenario:
This first happened when I started playing Lineage II about a month ago. At that time, my GPU was a Radeon HD 6870. I had all the max settings on and I'd run the game just fine.. for a about an hour. After that, the screen's graphics would become "distorted" and freeze at the same time. Then, moments later, Windows would tell me that the game crashed. I'd close out the screen and then seconds later, a "honking" type noise emits from my speakers. I would try to run something else, but the graphics on the desktop would become distorted as well as I explored Windows. My temporary solution? I restarted my computer. Problem fixed... temporarily.

This problem persisted with Rift as well. I'd play for about an hour and then the screen's graphics would go haywire and freeze, followed by a crash screen and then that honking noise from my speakers would come out. The honking noise would be consecutive skips rather than one long noise ("honks" that would last for a few seconds, quiets itself down, and repeats). To give an idea as to what the noise sounded like, imagine an old car with a really whimpy honking noise that is sorta high pitched.