device driver programming

G

Archived from groups: microsoft.public.windowsxp.device_driver.dev (More info?)

Hi
I am new to device driver programming. Please can any one tell me where
to start from.

G

"Ashutosh" <ashutosh_kr_b@yahoo.com> wrote in message news:Ol$87sFmEHA.1672@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Hi
> I am new to device driver programming. Please can any one tell me where
> to start from.

Try to stay away from driver programming. Study dot net.

--PA

G

Here's a couple of things to get you started:

1) Be prepared to go through a big learning curve. Writing device drivers
is not an easy task.

2) Get the Device Driver Kit (DDK)
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/DevTools/ddk/default.mspx

3) Read Programming the Microsoft® Windows® Driver Model, Second Edition
(http://www.microsoft.com/MSPress/books/6262.asp)

4) Go to http://www.microsoft.com/whdc. Lots of good stuff there.

Good luck!

--
Sandy Spinrad [MSFT]
Developer, Windows Core Bluetooth Team

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

"Ashutosh" <ashutosh_kr_b@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Ol$87sFmEHA.1672@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Hi
> I am new to device driver programming. Please can any one tell me where
> to start from.

chandrabhanu

Distinguished
Sep 7, 2010
I am also new to device driver programming.Can anybody help me with some new material for device driver programming.I have downloaded a lot of required material but all in book is difficult to understand to start with and I am concerned with development in both Linux and windows.
Please give any quick suggestions for any ebook or audio or video tutorials.