Sign in with
Your question

Please help me with my first ever build!

Last response: in Systems
December 16, 2012 1:04:07 PM

I have decided to build my own PC, however, I am a complete and utter noob to all this so would really appreciate some advice as to how to go about it and warnings as to potential pitfalls, especially in the assembling side of things!

I will be using the PC for general Microsoft Office work, gaming (in particular Battlefield, Crysis and a bit of Minecraft), a LOT of streaming of videos and surfing the internet. I won't be using the computer for graphic design things or rendering videos and stuff like that. In an ideal world, I'd like to be able to play Battlefield 3 on max settings (apart from motion blur at medium) at around 60fps. If that is an unrealistic goal for my budget then I'll just have to lower the settings, but I'm looking for components that will facilitate that sort of performance.

I live in the UK and have a budget of £1,000 (roughly $1,500 I think). I already have a monitor and speakers. I don't have a suitable gaming mouse or keyboard so if that could be included in my budget that would be awesome but if necessary they can be sacrificed if it means having better components. I'd just have to make do with my old Logitech keyboard and mouse while I save up. :) 

I hope I've provided enough information there but sorry if I've left anything out, and please don't hesitate to ask if I have.

Anyway, I've been reading around on this forum, taking advice from a friend, and looking at online reviews for a quite some time now to try and research as to what will suit my needs best.

From what I've learnt so far here's what I've got in mind. Again, I'm completely new to all this so feedback would be really appreciated. I don't know if the links I've put in are the cheapest vendor, in honesty I'm only familiar with Amazon so if you know a UK vendor which supplies the part cheaper then I would be really grateful for that.