Sign in with
Your question

Advice on upgrading a 2007 Alienware

Last response: in Systems
December 16, 2012 2:48:55 PM

Hey everyone, I need some advice. Keep in mind I am a complete noob at this.

I have a 2007 Alienware Area 51 7500
It currently has:
Chassis: Alienware P2 Chassiss
GPU: 2x Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX - SLI
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4 GHz
Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
Motherboard: Nvidia nForce SLI
RAM: 4x PC2-6400 400 MHz 1024 MB (4GB of RAM)
HDD: I don't know but I'm keeping it
Disk Drive: Broken LG one
Standard Alienware cooling system
750 Watt SLI Capable Power

Alright so my main goal is to play Battlefield 3 on ultra and Crysis 3 on whatever it's max settings are

Right now this is what I am looking at
GPU: EVGA Superclocked GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K Quad processor
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Motherboard: ? I was thinking maybe ASUS P8Z77-V DELUXE LGA 1155, but that might be overkill?
RAM: Patriot Viper Xtreme Series Division 2 Edition DDR3 8GB
HDD: I'm reusing what I have
Disk Drive: ASUS BW-12B1ST

Alright so I really just need advice on a good motherboard that would work with this setup and I know this is a stupid question but can I just assume that I can reuse my cooling system, power supply, and chassis? Nothing is wrong with them right now. Is 750 Watts enough power, especially if maybe in the future I wanted to run two GTX 680s?
Also just general advice and comments about what I am thinking about and if they will work.
I'm thinking I just take out the old motherboard put all my new stuff in new motherboard connect old hard drives to motherboard and then reconnect the power system and cooling system to the new motherboard, simple as that I hope....

Really appreciate this guys, this is gunna be a fun Christmas :D 
Thanks very much!

EDIT: Just double checked and my powersupply is only 750W Max
Edited the original post.
a b V Motherboard
December 16, 2012 9:54:28 PM