Sign in with
Your question

First Build - Thinking about future

Last response: in Systems
December 16, 2012 6:50:32 PM

So I've recently recieved all my parts for my first build from Scan.co.uk (will be assembling at Christmas):

-CPU: Intel i5 3570 @3.4GHz
-GPU: 2GB MSI Radeon HD7870
-MoBo: MSI H77MA-G43
-RAM: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
-PSU: 600W Corsair Gaming Series
-HDD: 1TB Seagate
-Case: Enermax ECA3250-BW

I will be using this for mainly gaming and also University work, maybe even 3D CAD if I get interested enough in it.

I am extremely happy with the parts. My question is, seeing as this is my first time build, would it have been a worthy investment to buy the 3570k instead? I am in no way interested in overclocking at the moment, it would be something I would be looking into near the end life of my CPU.

How long will this non-k CPU last? I mean in terms of being a good CPU to game with. I know now that MOST games rely more on the GPU so do you think this could last me 2-3 years?

Also if I did get the 3570k then decided I wanted to overclock, I've been informed I would have to get a new compatible MoBo and a better cooling system. Is this true? I wouldn't mind upgrading the cooling, but if it meant having to upgrade MoBo as well I would rather just upgrade the MoBo and CPU at the same time.

Side note: Been looking at keyboards (not interested/can't afford mechanical at the moment), at first I seen the Cyborg V5, but I'm not really a big fan of all these crazy over the top "gaming" designs. Then I noticed the Microsoft Sidewinder X4. Is this a good quality keyboard?

Thankyou for your replies!

More about : build thinking future

December 16, 2012 7:04:36 PM

You should get more focused on your University work!
December 16, 2012 7:09:20 PM

Haha, I definitely will be when the time comes! I'm only on my first year, and fortunately I've done more than half the stuff already at A-level. So now is the time to game! :D 
Related resources