$1000 Gaming Build

This is my first build. :hello:
Budget about $1000.
Let me know if it sounds good to you guys and feel free to modify/suggest!

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor ($189.99 @ Microcenter)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($129.98 @ Outlet PC)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($49.98 @ Outlet PC)
Storage: Crucial M4 128GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($99.99 @ B&H)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($129.99 @ NCIX US)
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card ($209.99 @ Microcenter)
Power Supply: Antec Basiq Plus 550W 80 PLUS Certified ATX12V Power Supply ($59.99 @ Newegg)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224BB/RSBS DVD/CD Writer ($20.95 @ Amazon)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit) ($89.98 @ Outlet PC)
Total: $980.84
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2012-12-18 03:01 EST-0500)
9 answers Last reply
More about 1000 gaming build
  1. The link doesnt work, go to the list of parts you have, and there should be a button that gives you the list in BB code. Use that, it makes it much easier to find out what you have and recommend
  2. PANZER4 said:
    The link doesnt work, go to the list of parts you have, and there should be a button that gives you the list in BB code. Use that, it makes it much easier to find out what you have and recommend

Ahh thanks! Fixed!
  3. That's an excellent build, the only thing that you could really change are the video card. From what I know the progression is something like 7870>660>7850
    But from what I know there so close it really depends on the game and settings.
    Also, what heatsink are you planning on using? I can't see one listed.
    BTW, what are you planning on using it for? It's pretty damn hard to fill up a 3 TBs of space
  4. PANZER4 said: