New homebuilder daunted by learning curve

Mashugana

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2010
Proper levels of power supplies, correct RAM, the right CPU and GPU combination - holy cow - the variable are maddening! And the numerical naming conventions of Intel, AMD, ATI and nVidia seem designed to confuse.

Is there a simple guide somewhere to explain the hierarchy of CPUs, GPUs, etc? I find it very hard to tell if X graphic card will give me more FPS than Y graphic card because the naming conventions for ATI and nVidia confound me. And even Intel confuses me - when is a high end i5 better than a low end i7? Why are they all listed as 'Sandy Bridge'?

Are there websites with a simple step ladder showing most to least powerful products? Anything :)

As a new home builder I have to say - the learning curve seems daunting.

groundrat

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2012
First, calm down and take a deep, cleansing breath.

All the people on the forms started exactly where you are. I am an Air Force Engineer and I was a mess when I put my first system together. I can remember screaming, “Its Alive!” when it booted to bios the first time… actually I still do…

First decision is how much do I want to spend?

Second, watch the vids that FinneousPJ was kind enough to link.

Lastly, go to Tom’s Hardware home page and look up the last quarterly system builds. Pick the computer that is closest to your price range ($500, $1000 and $2000 options). Make any changes necessary and if you have a question, ask. We all have opinions and are very happy to share them.

larkspur

Distinguished
Hi Mashugana - Tom's is here for you! The community here can answer most every question you might have about building your optimal system for your needs and budget. The "Best CPUs/GPUs for the Money" articles that FinneousPJ linked are excellent resources. The hierarchy charts at the end are incredibly helpful for quick reference.