New to graphic cards trying to decide

skathelast

Honorable
Oct 31, 2012
Hello community

I am new to graphic cards and I dont know much.What I want is some clarifications(since wiki didnt help me much) about different parts in graphic cards and a suggestion for what I should buy.

Current setup:
intel i5 750 @2.67
gigabyte motherboard
6gb DDR3
Nvidia GT240
Win8 x64
750W power supply
FullHD 23" samsung

I want to change my graphic card for something way better(since I am a gamer enthusiast).
I have stummbled upon EVGA GEFORCE GTX550 TI 2GB and SAPPHIRE RADEON HD7770 GHZ EDITION OC 1GB DDR5 which in my country costs almost same.

I have heard about an extra 5% in efficiency if you got "stacking" card with CPU like Nvidia+Intel and ATI+Amd (i think there is no such thing)

People keep suggesting me that I should try to find a card with 256bit rate
instead of 128(that both these cards got) could you tell me why? (obviously the more the better but an easy explanation?)

What are the key aspects I should be looking when buying a video card and in what order should i look at them? Is it core clock? Is it memory capacity? Is it memory speed? Is it strem processors? Is it shaderclock? Is it Memory Bandwidth?
I have come across all of these in my search and some cards states them others not.
I choose SLI/CrossFire so in case I want to upgrade my whole rig I would at least got a card. :p

I would appreciate it if you could share some information with me and come up with a suggestion on my dilemma.

EzioAs

Distinguished
The reality of it is, specs are quite meaningless unless you know what they mean. You'll need to read reviews if you want to know about the performance of graphics card. Tom's Hardware has a buyer's guide each month for video card at each price point (from<$100 to >$500) and their guide is very good and thorough. I highly recommend you check them out.