Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Looking to build first gaming rig, looking for suggestions

Last response: in Systems
December 21, 2012 8:05:36 AM

Hi, I'm pretty new to this sort of thing, but I'm looking to build a new computer for gaming. I want it to be able to run the newest games well but not cost too much (pretty much what everyone wants from a computer, eh?). I don't have a set budget in mind, but I don't want it to kill me, if you know what I mean. Anyways, I have been looking around the internet for a while and I have come up with something that looks reasonable, at least to me. I was hoping to put it up and get some suggestions on what would work, what would be better and whatnot. I don't plan on actually getting to building it for at least a couple of months, this is just to get a pretty solid idea of what I'm going to work towards.
So here are the parts I have found:

CPU:
For the CPU I was thinking the Core I5 3570k. I have read a lot that this is perfect for gaming at a reasonable price, and that you don't really notice the difference between this and an I7.

GPU:
Sapphire 1120-07-40g, Radeon HD 7870 Video Card, 2048mb. Again, I read good things about this card and it is reasonably priced.

Memory:
I chose the G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CLOS-8GBXL, 2x8GB, DDR3-1600, PC3-12800 ram sticks. I want decent ram that will allow the computer to run very quickly. I wasn't sure whether to go with 8GB or 16Gb, and just decided to get 8Gb for the price. Any suggestions on what I should use?

MOBO:
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H Motherboard, Socket 1155, Intel Z77. I really had no idea what to go with for a motherboard, so I searched around on google and came up with this.

Hard Drive: