Last Minute Decision- FX8120 vs FX8350 vs Intel i5

Tutsirai

Honorable
Dec 16, 2012
Ok I need to make a last minute decision here, looking for good input. By the way Im new to building computers.

Today I was just getting ready to buy these parts.

Processor & Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1169950

Case & RAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1170061

Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182200

Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161426

Total Build= $643.47

...........However I just happened to find this post on craigslist
http://tampa.craigslist.org/hil/sys/3476034252.html

I've spoken with the guy and he guarantees that everything works, he's given me a deal on the FX8120/Mobo/PSU all for 200$. Im not buying anything else from him aside from these things.

Now after doing all my research I've heard just about the same story everywhere. "Stay away from the Bulldozer models they are garbage, Intel i5/i7 all the way" and "The Bulldozers are crap for gaming, just look at the benchmarks"

I was dead set on buying the FX8350, the great reviews and significant increase in performance from the Bulldozers, as well as the positive feedback from gamers had me sold. Also I've been told getting 8-cores now is investing in the future.

After doing some further research this time with the help of Youtube, I'm beginning to have some real doubts when it comes to the reliability of these reviews and benchmarks out there. I've just finished watching about 10 videos of people playing most of these "Benchmark standard" games like Battlefield 3 and Crysis with max setting using the FX8120 overclocked and getting a reasonable FPS at about 50-70.

Are the Intel i5/i7's really necessary? It seems that they're overkill to the average gamer and more suited for the Hardcore gaming enthusiasts that buy $300-400 GPU's.