Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Can a 550ti 1024mb Run SLI With a 550ti 2048mb?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 3, 2012 7:29:06 PM

As of now I have a EVGA 550ti 1024mb in my system. I was planning on getting another and running SLI but on Amazon right now they are having a whole bunch of early black friday sales so the 550ti 2048 mb is actually $15 cheaper. I was wondering if two cards would run SLI together. I remember reading somewhere that you could do this but it would run both cards at the speed of the slower one but I can not find this article and I am not sure if it was true anyway. This is my first time I will running SLI in any system that I have built so any help would much appreciated. Thanks.

Edit:
I did some more research and some more looking around and I dont really want to spend anything over $150 on all this but I think if I sold my 550ti on eBay I may be able to spring for a 660. Is this a better option and will it run two monitors smoothly?
Anonymous
a c 117 U Graphics card
November 3, 2012 7:32:31 PM

the lower speed and amount of Vram would match, so in other words, you would have 1024 of total Vram as opposed to 2048 if both card had the higher amount.
btw, 550ti SLI does not scale very good in many games . . some are great but not most. i know, i looked since i have one.
m
l
November 3, 2012 7:48:20 PM

Anonymous said:
the lower speed and amount of Vram would match, so in other words, you would have 1024 of total Vram as opposed to 2048 if both card had the higher amount.
btw, 550ti SLI does not scale very good in many games . . some are great but not most. i know, i looked since i have one.