Desktop for animation (dell precision?)

squarebubble

Honorable
Dec 22, 2012
Hey all c:
I'm a an animation student and am currently looking into getting a desktop computer to use with my course..
I toyed with the idea of building my own computer, but I am a complete noob when it comes to hardware and after a couple of hours trying to find out what I would need, seeing the price ofg components and genrally confusing myself, I gave up on that idea xP

So, so far I've heard dell is pretty good and am looking at maybe getting this one: http://www.dell.com/uk/business/p/precision-t1650/fs

Looking at getting the base one at the moment, since I don't have much money, but if there's a huge advantage to the essential model I could scrounge up the extra money for it xP

So yeah, do you think this is a good choice, will the base model be good enough? How easily will I be able to install extra RAM/ a better graphics card if I need to? Any other desktops that would be better (whilst keeping to a similar price)?

My course does a mixture of 3D, 2D and stop-motion (and I'm thinking of either concentrating on 2D or stop-motion in my final year, although at the moment I need it to render a small 3D scene in 3DS max )

Thanks in advance C:

squarebubble

Honorable
Dec 22, 2012
Sorry, is this better? c:

Approximate Purchase Date: Not purchased yet, want to buy ASAP, considering this model , but not sure if it's good enough xP

Budget Range: £300 - £600

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Animation/ art programs, everyday use, maybe a tiny bit of gaming (probably the most taxing game I'll run on it is the Sims 2 though xP )

Are you buying a monitor: Yes - considering this one

Parts to Upgrade: N/A

Do you need to buy OS: Yes (it's included in the price of PC I've selected though, getting Windows 7 professional 64bit )

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: dell.com, ebuyer.com

Parts Preferences: N/A

Overclocking: Maybe??

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe??

Your Monitor Resolution: N/A