Custom build or Store bought?

InsaneMoose

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2003
Now, i was really wondering if i should custom build my new comp, or just go out to best buy and get one already made. I've been planning on building my own, but the thing is, i've never built a comp before and i dont want to screw it up considering its going to be a gaming comp not just something im practicing on that wouldn't matter if i screwed up.
I posted on these forums asking for hardware suggestions, and i realize that if i custom build im going to need ALOT of parts. Case, fans, mobo, processor, ram, harddrive, dvd drive, cd burner, and parts that i dont even know if i need like system coolers (other then fans) and like heatsinks which i hear about but i dont even know what they are!!

But, if i go to best buy i can go get a p4 2.8ghz, 512mb ram, cd/dvd burner, 160gb hd, probably 1 fan, for like 900 all ready for me.

What shall this newb do?

fariss

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2002
Three things:
1. What's your budget?
2. How much time do you have on your hands?
3. Do you have any friends that have experience building them?

pitsi

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2003
There is no doubt that the better choice is to build your own, because this way it will cheaper and also you can get exactly what you want. On the other hand, since you haven't tried this before I am only suggesting that you go for it only if you have a friend that can help you. If there is nobody, then I think it's a risk and I wouldn't reccomend it. It's not something too difficult but since this is the first time that you will be building a system, you'll need a lot of help by someone that has done it before.

spitoon

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2003
There are a few things to consider...