Where do I begin when building my first computer?

Blues All Day

Honorable
Dec 23, 2012
Hey everyone, I have always loved playing games, but now I'm at the stage where I want to build my own PC. I know the basics but I'm very new at building PCs. The reason I want to upgrade is because my laptop just isn't cutting it anymore. I can run games like Skyrim and Diablo 3 on lower settings but my graphics card is really holding me back (Intel HD Graphics), and I can't even start the game RAGE. I would like to build a computer that can handle most games on high settings. I am really just looking for some beginners advice and recommended parts. I will have help when it comes to actually putting the PC together from a friend that built his own last year.

Approximate Purchase Date: within the next month, i figure prices could be low here in the next few weeks due to after holiday sales.

Budget Range: ($1000 for now, flexible) After Rebates; After Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Watching movies, Surfing the internet, photoshop. I'll use my laptop for school work and music storage.

Are you buying a monitor: Yes but i can use my old computer monitor in the mean time.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg, amazon, tigerdirect, any other trusted sites.

Parts Preferences: Open-minded.

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: IDK

Your Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050, Will upgrade to 1920x1080 when I buy a new monitor.

Additional Comments: Just want a computer that can handle long gaming sessions and will last for a long time, needs to be able to run most games on high settings.

Thanks for reading, and I appreciate any input

jonjonjon

Honorable
Sep 7, 2012
i would look at something similiar to this. that doesn't include the cost of a monitor or os. you could spend less on a case and probably find a cheaper psu on sale. you could replace the amd 7950 with something from nvidia like a 660ti.