Overclocking 3570k Questions

Tums

Honorable
Jan 13, 2013
Hi there,

I plan on OCing my 3570k to 4.0ghz and I am a noob at OCing. I want to speed up my processor, but I dont want too much heat. I have done some reading online but I still don't quite understand the OCing procedure. My specs are:
asus sabertooth z77
Gskill Ripjaws f3-12800cl10d-16gbxl
corsair hx750

These are a few things I have learned:
- I should be using the Ai Tweaker in the UEFI to OC
- Every chip is made different, so the "sweet spot" is different every time.
- To increase my frequency I change the base clock multiplier
- I need to increase my cpu voltage to accommodate for higher cpu frequencies
- I should use prime95 to stress test my OC to see if it crashes. If it does, I should increase voltage, until I can stress test without crashing.

Questions:
1) Is there a guide out there that gives me a step by step tutorial to OCing my cpu with the Asus Sabertooth z77 UEFI?
2) How do I know what voltage to start with for each OC? If prime crashes or shows errors, what increments do I increase the voltage at? When do I stop?
3) If the first voltage i set is stable with my OC, should i slowly lower voltage to get the best possible temperatures? Again, by what increments do I decrease voltage by?
4) after i set my voltage, does it stay at that parameter, or does it fluctuate?
5) Should i set ai overclock tuner to XMP or manual? I understand the XMP feature OC's my ram... But does it OC my ram's frequency to best accommodate the OCing of the CPU?
6) There are other settings like CPU Load Line that I have read that I need to increase, but what does this do?
7) There are other voltage settings like DRAM voltage, VCCSA voltage, VCCIO voltage, etc. that i can change. Should I leave these auto? What is the result of changing them?

Thanks

Solution
No. You should not be using any sort of software or motherboard "easy button."