Sign in with
Your question

Nvidia or AMD GFX card?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 6, 2012 5:18:02 PM

Hello everyone. I'm new to this very useful site and only have a layman's knowledge of PC's and I'm currently in the process of speccing up a new build for myself. As you can see from my profile, it's been a while since i got my last Pc!! This new Pc has to last for at least 4 years and i'll be using it in 1920x1080 resolution on a 26" monitor mainly for university and gaming (Minecraft, FSX, Total War franchise, FarCry 3, Witcher 2 and maybe the new GTA). The spec of my prospective new machine is as follows:

i5 3550.
Gigabyte GA-77-D3H.
4GB DDR3 (1600mhz).
WD 'black' HDD.
Corsair or Antec PSU.

My problem is that i'm not too sure of which GFX card to go for. I'm thinking of getting an AMD 7850 (2GB version) as this is good value for money and seems to fill a gap in the market or i might stretch my budget slightly to an Nvidia 660GTX. I want to play in 1920x1080 at max settings which both cards should do well. However, i've been told by a friend who works in computers that AMD cards burn out a lot and that AMD drivers aren't as stable or as optimised as Nvidia's.

I'd thought i'd throw this out there and see what the general consensus is on these two cards and their respective manufacturers. Also i've read that Nvidia's Forceware drivers, quote, 'castrate the compute (GPGPU) performance of GeForce cards' and that the, quote, 'asymmetricl distribution of <Nvidia's> V-RAM starves the GPU and in future games when texture load will only increase the performance will suffer considerably.'

Would the 7850 age better than the 660GTX then? Are Nvidia cards more stable and less prone to failure?

Thankyou in advance for your replies.

More about : nvidia amd gfx card

a c 87 U Graphics card
November 6, 2012 5:24:14 PM