Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New Build won't post

Last response: in Systems
December 25, 2012 8:28:24 PM

So this is my first build. I got this mother board: http://us.msi.com/product/mb/H61M-E33-W8.html and this case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

The problem is i can only get 5 standoffs installed and 1 of the holes is completely unused with no screw or standoff because there is no hole on the case for it. I don't think this is the reason my computer won't even post. It turns on and then instantly reboots, nothing shows up on screen either.

My dad has a friend who has been building for years and were gonna have him take a look at it in a few days so i'm not completely worried. If anything ill have to get a new motherboard. For my first time, my cpu seemed to drop right in with no force so i don't think its that. But my ram could also be the problem? the computer does the same thing when i remove the ram.

Is it shorting out because it is not fully grounded? idk what to do because i have nothing to test the components with because it could be ram,psu,mobo idk....

More about : build post

December 25, 2012 8:50:54 PM

it boots up for like 5 seconds and displays nothing on screen, then powers down and then boots back up and does same thing. im fresh out of ideas.
m
l

Best solution

a b V Motherboard
December 25, 2012 9:00:01 PM

blake1243 said:
So this is my first build. I got this mother board: http://us.msi.com/product/mb/H61M-E33-W8.html and this case: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

The problem is i can only get 5 standoffs installed and 1 of the holes is completely unused with no screw or standoff because there is no hole on the case for it. I don't think this is the reason my computer won't even post. It turns on and then instantly reboots, nothing shows up on screen either.