Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What gpu should I get for pcie 1.0a

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 8, 2012 1:52:42 AM

Hello,
I have a Gateway 504GR Pentium 4 HT 3.0, 3.49 GB ram, 300W psu running XP Pro (32).
My question is what graphics card should I get that will be supported by my pcie 1.0a - I have been using a GeForce 6600 (non-GT) for quite a few years now but finally crashed/burned or something and would like to just upgrade the card to the highest point without having to get anything else (except a new psu if needed). any ideas?

More about : gpu pcie

a c 268 U Graphics card
November 8, 2012 2:44:24 AM

Since pcie 1.0/2.0/3.0 are all forward and backwards compatible, that will not be an issue.
You can use any card that physically fits your case and uses a pcie-x16 slot.
The strongest card that will not need an updated psu might be the 7750.
m
l
November 8, 2012 5:36:57 AM

geofelt said:
Since pcie 1.0/2.0/3.0 are all forward and backwards compatible, that will not be an issue.
You can use any card that physically fits your case and uses a pcie-x16 slot.
The strongest card that will not need an updated psu might be the 7750.

Thanks for the info - I had been kinda looking at the geforce 9800 gt but it uses about 2x the power of that radeon 7750 so I think I'll start pricing that one out.
m
l
Related resources
a c 175 U Graphics card
November 8, 2012 6:16:52 AM

While true that PCIe is compatible, I've heard rumors of 2.0 cards having issues in 1.0 boards. I would update the bios on that board before you try, and make sure whoever you buy from has a good return policy. You might even want to borrow a card first and see if it works.

Edit: I forgot to mention that I wouldn't bother with the 7750 if you are staying with that P4. You can go down a card or two and not loose anything in performance.
m
l
November 8, 2012 6:20:45 PM