Solved

Consolidate email/webmail accounts w/ email client eg. Thunderbird?

Hello,

I have numerous webmail accounts from assorted providers eg. Yahoo.

I would like to consolidate these through the one source.

I would like to do this through a (non-webmail) email client eg. Thunderbird.

How is this done? My OS is Win 7.

Thanks.
2 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about consolidate email webmail accounts email client thunderbird
  1. Best answer
    I have been using Mozilla Thunderbird since 2005, when I imported the messages from Outlook Express, I have mails in it from around 2003. I have moved my Thunderbird profile directory (the one which contains the mail database files) several times over different operating systems, including Windows XP, Fedora Linux and Windows 7. I'm using 8 email accounts from 7 providers.

Thunderbird works.

However, my first suggestion is to install it, then create one or two dummy email accounts, send some emails to them, and start experimenting with them.

The most important point to understand is that you can set up the account profiles in a way which removes the mail from the server (deletes it after it was downloaded). If you use that setting, you have to be absolutely clear, what are you doing, because *YOU CANNOT REPEAT THIS PROCESS* with your real accounts, and you might end up with a mess.

However, if done right, there should be no problem.

I've set up my Thunderbird in a way, that all incoming email comes into the same incoming folder, and I use filters to put the emails into different folders. For example, I'm subscribed to several different mailing lists, so I have folders for them, and the filter has a rule for identifying them by sender address.

But you can set up the structure by using separate incoming folders, as far as I know (see documentation about this).