NTFS or FAT32?

Jehdin

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2001
Hey, im going to (attempt to)build my first comp (ever), and im getting Athlon XP 1800+, an Nforce (undecided what brand), an Antec sx840 case with 2 fans and a 400watt power supply, a creative modem blaster v92, and im using my older 40gb 7200RPM harddrive (not sure what brand it is, because i got this current comp from gateway), a cd-rom,cd-rw, floppy drive, and geforce 2 ultra, from the same comp. I'm going to install Windows XP Home on the comp im building, and i need to know how to erase EVERYTHING on my harddrive, and i need to know whether to use NTFS or FAT32 file system, and if i (really) need a DOS partition...You can tell im new at this eh? heh thanks ahead of time..

FatBurger

Illustrious
Just format and leave the one standard partition. NTFS file system (you can let Windows Setup format it that way).

<font color=orange>Quarter</font color=orange> <font color=blue>Pounder</font color=blue> <font color=orange>Inside</font color=orange>

G

If you really want to make sure EVERYTHING is off of the drive, don't count on the Windows installer to get rid of it. I would recommend downloading a thin linux distro with fdisk. Since the linux fdisk can read a bunch more different kinds of partitions, you will be able to delete partitions even windows can't see.

I use this distro: http://www.toms.net/rb/

I just gave someone else a quick fdisk lesson, so I'll copy it here:
(quick linux fdisk lesson: run fdisk, press p. if there are any partitions, hit d and then the corresponding partition number. repeat until they're all gone. hit w to write the partition tables and reboot. Heat at 400F for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown, serves 8-10)

I would deffinately use an NTFS file system.

Good Luck!

Peekay

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2001