My Little Ninja

CoolHandLuke

Honorable
Jun 8, 2012
Okay, I am a first time builder and I need help putting together the rest of my build. I have most of my components already. Just a few more to go. So far this is what I got.

Mobo - ASUS Sabertooth Z77 - $200
CPU - i5 2500k - $160
GPU - EVGA 660Ti 3GB SC+ - $290
PSU - Seasonic X-Series 750 W Gold - $110
SSD - Samsung 830 128GB - $100
HDD - WD Black 1TB - $100
OD - LITE ON DVD burner w/ Lightscribe - $20
Memory - G. Skill Sniper 8GB 1866 - $30
Case - Corsair C70 Vengeance - $90

I think it's a pretty solid build so far.

Now, I have a couple of questions.

1. Should I trade in and upgrade to the i5 3570k? I'd like everything to be future proof as much as possible. Am I going to notice a difference with everything being PCI 3.0 compatible? Everything is still in original packaging so I can just return whatever I need to.

2. What kind of cooling does everybody recommend for this build? Do I even need any unless I plan on overclocking? For the CPU I was thinking an EVO 212, but then I was thinking why not just go with a corsair liquid cooler? Are they worth it? If so, which one gives me the best bang for my buck? What about GPU cooling? And HDD? Should I just buy additional fans to mount in the case? My case offers like 10 spots for fans. I was looking at the BitFenix Spectre Pro fans. Are these any good?

3. I am thinking about getting a keyboard and mouse down the road when I become a "super geek" and don't leave my basement anymore. I was looking at the Saitek/MadCatz Cyborg keyboard and R.A.T. 7 mouse. Any thoughts on these?

4. I included pricing on what I paid for everything for a reason. As you can see I got everything on sale. I'm not made of money like my wife thinks. If you recommend me switching something in my build I am all ears. Just make it reasonable. I am big on appearance as well. If I pay a fair amount for it I want it to look snazzy too.

5. Anything else I forgot?